Cabrini Distinguished Educator Award

  • Mr. Ed Barrett – Lynn Oaks
    nominated by Elizabeth Farizo 9th
  • Mrs. Reba Conefry – Christ the King
    nominated by Kaiely Loetzerich 9th, Emily Lohman 10th, & Hannah Susslin 8th
  • Mr. Linn Eckert – Atonement Lutheran
    nominated by Deborah Alvarenga 9th & Adrianna Bailey 8th
  • Mr. Sal O'Shello – St. Rosalie
    nominated by Emily Daigle 9th
  • Mrs. Susan Slavich – Our Lady of Prompt Succor - Chal.
    nominated by Maci Ousset 11th
  • Mrs. Karen Virga – St. Benilde
    nominated by Katherine Cousin 8th & Ashley Nicosia 8th

The genesis of the Distinguished Educator Award came from the recognition paid by a Louisiana university to selected outstanding high school teachers. Scholarship students at the university were given the opportunity to nominate the high school teacher who made the greatest positive impact on them during their secondary school years. At least two Cabrini teachers have been honored with this award. For many years, the administration and students at Cabrini have considered various ways to honor those elementary school teachers who prepare the outstanding students who come to Cabrini. This award is the result.

What does the award mean? The Cabrini Distinguished Educator Award is presented to elementary school teachers who have done an outstanding job of preparing their students to succeed in high school. Cabrini students who have demonstrated outstanding character and hold a cumulative GPA of 3.5 or higher were given the opportunity to nominate the elementary school teacher who made the biggest positive impact on their lives. Each student was asked to write briefly about why they chose to nominate the teacher and the impact their nominee had on them.

Once the students submitted their nominations, the nominees were reviewed by a committee comprising Cabrini faculty and staff. That committee discussed the nominees and chose the honorees for the Cabrini Distinguished Educator Award.

These teachers were awarded a plaque at The Distinguished Educators' Convocation, held May 7, 2013, in Cabrini's Chapel, and were also treated to a reception following in Alumnae Hall.

We congratulate these distinguished educators and thank each of them for all they have done for us.