Cabrini Taylor Rogge Science CongressTaylor Rogge’17  attended the Congress of Future Science and Technology Leaders in Boston, MA this summer.

American hero and astronaut Buzz Aldrin, Science Director of the National Academy of Future Scientists and Technologists, invited Taylor to represent Louisiana based on her academic achievement, leadership potential, and passion for science and technology.

The Congress is an honors-only program for high school students who are passionate about science, technology, engineering or mathematics (STEM).  The purpose of this event is to honor, inspire, motivate, and direct the top students in the country who aspire to be scientists and technologists, to stay true to their dream and, after the event, to provide a path, plan and resources to help them reach their goal.

During the three-day Congress, Taylor  joined students from across the country and heard Nobel Laureates and National Medal of Science Winners speak about leading scientific research; received advice from deans of the world's top tech universities; was inspired by fellow teens of similar interests; and learned about cutting-edge advances and the future of science and technology.

"This is a crucial time in America when we need more nimble-minded and creative scientists and technologists who are even better prepared for a future that is changing exponentially," said Richard Rossi, Executive Director, National Academy of Future Scientists and Technologists. "Focused, bright and determined students like Taylor Rogge are our future and she deserves all the mentoring and guidance we can give her."

The National Academy of Future Science and Technology was founded on the belief that we must identify prospective technical talent at the earliest possible age and help these students acquire the necessary experience and skills to take them to the doorstep of this vital career. Based in Washington, D.C., the Academy was chartered as a nonpartisan, taxpaying institution to help address this crisis by working to identify, encourage and mentor students who wish to devote their lives to the service of humanity as physicians, medical scientists, technologists, and engineers and mathematicians.